AIB Mortgage Ultimate Review – Ireland 2023

AIB Mortgage

AIB is Ireland’s second largest bank, who also own EBS and Haven. In our AIB Mortgage Ultimate Review – Ireland 2023 we will give you the inside track on a AIB mortgages and the alternatives.

As someone who used to lead the mortgage product team in PTSB, I’ve always considered an AIB mortgage as a strong option.

Unlike the other two Irish banks, AIB have been pro-active in passing on rate cuts to customers with their typical follow on rate around the 3% mark versus 4% with Bank of Ireland and PTSB.

This means they have an AIB mortgage has an attractive average percentage rate of charge (APRC), which means you will pay much less interest than the other banks over the full lifetime of the mortgage.

That said their rates still aren’t as good as the non traditional lenders. So if it’s value you are after you should go to a broker who can offer these rates and also access most of AIB’s rate through AIB’s broker arm Haven.

Average Mortgage Rate (APRC) at LTV <50%3 Yr4 Yr5 Yr7 Yr
Avant Money Mortgage3.25%3.19%3.35%3.65%
Haven Mortgages3.50%3.80%4.10%
AIB Mortgage 3.45%3.55%3.66%3.90%
EBS Mortgage4.10%4.20%
Permanent TSB Mortgage3.98%3.90%4.13%4.35%
Bank of Ireland Mortgage4.10%4.10%
ICS Mortgages4.90%4.99%
Finance Ireland Mortgage6.09%6.06%
Ulster Bank3.60%3.80%
Bank of Ireland Mortgage (re-fixing) 3.90%3.80%
KBC Mortgage3.70%3.60%
Correct as of 15/03/23. APRC = Average Rate paid across the whole mortgage term, table, excludes Mortgage value >€250,000, excludes Green mortgages

The bottom line is that AIB probably only makes sense for you if you have a low loan to value (LTV) and you are unable to get a mortgage with Avant Money due to credit history or the location of your home.

You can see how AIB Mortgage rates compare to the other options in the market for your needs here.

Read on to find out if an AIB mortgage makes sense for you and the other options for a great rate and easy approval.

  1. AIB Mortgage Rate and Product Overview – AIB Mortgage Ireland 2023
  2. Pro’s & Con’s – AIB Mortgage Ireland 2023
  3. Recommendation – AIB Mortgage Ireland 2023
  4. Alternatives – AIB Mortgage Ireland 2023
  5. In a Nutshell – AIB Mortgage Ireland 2023

AIB Mortgage Rate and Product Overview – AIB Mortgage Ireland 2023

AIB Mortgage Cash back

You can see how an AIB Mortgage stacks up against other providers for Cash back in the table below.

Compare
Cash back
Cash back MinCash back MaxCash back conditions
Avant Money€0€0NA
Haven€0€2,000Switcher only
AIB Mortgage€0€2,000Switcher only
Permanent TSB0%2%2% not available to 4 year fixed term.
EBS Mortgage2%3%2% on drawdown 1% after 5 years
Bank of Ireland2%3%2% on drawdown 1% after 5 years
Rates updated 15/03/23

The long term cost of the mortgage is often hidden by providers behind cash back offers and introductory rates. Check out our comparison of cash back and rates after the introductory period below.

AIB Mortgage Introductory Rate

First let’s take a look at how AIB’s introductory rate stacks up at the most popular fixed rates of 3 and 4 years.

An AIB mortgage performs pretty well on introductory rate, coming in second place at LTV’s below 50%, dropping to 3rd place below 60% and getting matched by its own broker arm Haven for LTV’s above 70%.

3 Year Fixed Mortgage Rate
APRC
up to
50% LTV
up to
60% LTV
up to
70% LTV
up to
80% LTV
up to
90% LTV
Avant Money Mortgage3.11%3.11%3.12%3.39%3.41%
ICS Mortgages4.90%4.90%4.92%5.15%5.18%
Finance Ireland Mortgage6.09%6.23%6.25%6.25%6.51%
Haven Mortgages3.50%3.50%3.50%3.50%3.50%
AIB Mortgage3.45%3.63%3.63%3.63%3.80%
EBS Mortgage4.10%4.10%4.10%4.10%4.10%
Permanent TSB Mortgage3.98%3.98%4.12%4.12%4.24%
Bank of Ireland Mortgage4.10%4.10%4.30%4.30%4.40%
Bank of Ireland Re-fix3.90%3.90%4.10%4.10%4.30%
KBC Mortgage3.70%3.70%3.90%3.90%4.10%
Correct as of 15/03/23
4 Year Fixed
APRC Comparison
up to
50% LTV
up to
60% LTV
up to
70% LTV
up to
80% LTV
up to
90% LTV
Avant Money3.19%3.19%3.21%3.45%3.48%
Haven Mortgages* 3.40%3.40%3.40%3.40%3.40%
AIB3.55%3.72%3.72%3.72%3.89%
Permanent TSB3.89%3.89%4.02%4.02%4.16%
EBS*3.75%3.75%3.75%3.75%3.75%
Bank of Ireland**3.7%3.7%3.90%3.90%4.10%
*Green Rate **Over €250,000 Rate , rates updated 15/03/23

Annual Percentage Rate Charge (APRC) calculated on a €100,000 loan over 20 years. APRC represents the average rate across the lifetime of a typical mortgage and is recommended as the best rate to use for comparisons by the CCPC. [1]

AIB Mortgage Follow On Rate

If you aren’t switching your mortgage to another provider the rate you will pay after your fixed period is up is the one that matters most for the overall cost of your mortgage.

These rates are often hidden away by providers pushing the upfront introductory rate or cash back offers.

AIB Mortgages are in the middle of the pack on follow on rates, offering the best of the bank or bank owned follow on rates. That said, the rates from Avant Money are considerably lower giving them the definite upper hand on best value across the whole term of your mortgage.


Follow on/Variable Mortgage Rates
up to
50% LTV
Follow on Rate
up to
60% LTV
Follow on Rate
up to
70% LTV
Follow on Rate
up to
80% LTV
Follow on Rate
up to
90% LTV
Follow on Rate
Avant Mortgage2.95%2.95%2.95%3.30%3.30%
ICS Mortgages4.70%4.70%4.70%4.95%4.95%
Finance Ireland5.75%5.95%5.95%5.95%6.15%
Haven Mortgages2.75%2.95%2.95%2.95%3.15%
AIB Mortgage3.10%3.30%3.30%3.30%3.50%
KBC3.20%3.20%3.25%3.25%3.50%
Ulster Bank3.50%3.50%3.70%3.70%3.90%
EBS Mortgage3.30%3.50%3.50%3.50%3.70%
Permanent TSB3.70%3.70%3.70%3.70%3.90%
Bank of Ireland3.90%3.90%4.20%4.20%4.50%
Probable follow on variable rates post fixed period based on current variable rates by provider, rates updated 15/03/23

Probable follow on variable rates post fixed period based on current variable rates by provider

The follow on rate makes a huge difference to the cost of your mortgage.

A 25 year €285,000 mortgage for example would cost €387,574 with Avant Money and €398,429 with AIB. That makes Avant Money over €12,000 cheaper over the term of the mortgage.

AIB Mortgage Approval Types

An AIB Mortgage is available for First Time Buyers, Next Time Buyers (Movers), Switchers, Self Build and Top Up (Equity Release).

They also offer foreign exchange (fx) mortgages that allow people buying from abroad to obtain a mortgage if eligible.

Their Green Mortgage needs a document known as a Building Energy Rating (BER), which essentially is a calculation of how energy efficient your home is. BER certificates are valid for up to 10 years. 

The BER measures how energy efficient your home is on a scale of A to G, with A being the most energy efficient your home can be.

You will require a BER rating of at least B3 in order to qualify and apply for a Green Mortgage with Haven. 

If you are self building you can’t get a BER rating until the completion of your build, unlike other lenders Haven don’t make a loan offer based on the assumption that your property qualifies for a green rate. This is pretty crazy given that all properties nowadays must have a B3 or higher rating.

Average Rate (APRC) 3 Yr4 Yr5 Yr7 Yr
Avant Money Mortgages3.11%3.19%3.35%3.95%
ICS Mortgages4.90%4.99%
Finance Ireland Mortgages6.09%6.06%
Haven Mortgages3.50%3.40%*3.80%4.10%
AIB Mortgage3.45%3.43%*3.44%*3.90%
EBS Mortgages4.10%3.80%*4.20%
Permanent TSB Mortgages4.25%*3.89%4.13%*4.35%
Bank of Ireland Mortgages3.90%*3.60%*3.70%*3.80%*
LTV < 50%, * Includes Mortgage value >€250,000 or Building Energy Rating B3+, rates updated 15/03/23

This means quite a lot of extra paperwork for AIB compared to other lenders, which might be enough to put you off getting a self build mortgage with AIB.

AIB Mortgage Approval Credit Policy

AIB are in the goldilocks zone for mortgage approvals, with a reputation for not being too tight or too loose.

Our data indicates that approvals are broadly in line with those given at their subsidiaries of Haven and EBS. Generally their credit approval policy will suit most applicants.

Pro’s & Con’s – AIB Mortgage Ireland 2023

Pro’s

  • Attractive short term rates @ up to 60% LTV in particular the 4 year Green Mortgage
  • Cash back of €2,000 to €5,000

Con’s

  • At LTV’s above 60% ICS and Avant Money have better introductory rates
  • Avant Money have better follow on rates around 0.25% better on average
  • AIB’s green mortgage for self builders is a lot of admin hard work

Recommendation – AIB Mortgage Ireland 2023

So an AIB mortgage can lead the market on the combination of introductory rate and cash back, but they cost a lot more than some providers in the long run.

With switching becoming easier and savings increasing, switching your mortgage every 3 or 4 years now makes a lot of sense. You not only can claim multiple cash back offers you can also lock into low fixed rates each time you move.

RankMortgage ProductRate ValueRepayment SecurityEase of ApprovalApproval SpeedOverall Rating
1Avant Money Mortgage 10-30 Yr Fixed3.05.04.05.04.20
2Avant Money Mortgage 7 Yr Fixed4.03.54.05.04.05
3Avant Money Mortgage 5 Yr Fixed4.52.54.05.03.90
4Avant Money Mortgage 4 Yr Fixed5.01.04.05.03.60
5Haven Mortgage 10 Yr Fixed3.54.03.53.03.55
Rating Weighting: Rate 30%, Security 30%, Approval 20%, Speed 20%, updated 03/02/2023

If you know you’re are going to switch at the end of your fixed period then an AIB Mortgage is a good option, particularly if you have an LTV below 60%. 

Their 4 year fixed Green Mortgage offers great value in the 4 year term.

However, if you are looking to stay with your provider for longer than the fixed period there are better options available offering introductory rates just as good, but with lower follow on rates.

Alternatives – AIB Mortgage Ireland 2023

Average Rate (APRC) 3 Yr4 Yr5 Yr7 Yr
Avant Money Mortgages3.11%3.19%3.35%3.95%
ICS Mortgages4.90%4.99%
Finance Ireland Mortgages6.09%6.06%
Haven Mortgages3.50%3.40%*3.80%4.10%
AIB Mortgage3.45%3.43%*3.44%*3.90%
EBS Mortgages4.10%3.80%*4.20%
Permanent TSB Mortgages4.25%*3.89%4.13%*4.35%
Bank of Ireland Mortgages3.90%*3.60%*3.70%*3.80%*
LTV < 50%, * Includes Mortgage value >€250,000 or Building Energy Rating B3+, rates updated 15/03/23
Avant Logo
  • Rates from 2.44% APRC
  • Fixed for 3-30 Years
  • Tighter approval policy
ICS Logo
  • Rates from 3.83% APRC
  • Fixed for 3-5 Years
  • Flexible approval policy
Finance Ireland Logo
  • Rates from 4.45% APRC
  • Fixed for 3-25 Years
  • Flexible approval policy

In a Nutshell – AIB Mortgage Ireland 2023

The non bank lenders Avant Money, ICS Mortgages and Finance Ireland offer the best combination of rates and approval flexibility for most people looking for a mortgage.

Rates with these lenders are typically 30% lower than the banks as they aren’t carrying the cost of supporting tracker mortgage customers.

If you are thinking of becoming a serial switcher AIB should also be on the roster, by signing up for the 4 year fixed you can get a great rate and cash back into your pocket then switch to one of the non bank lenders when your 4 years are up.

Haven, Avant Money, ICS Mortgages and Finance Ireland are available through brokers or through one our mortgage sherpas.

Next Steps – AIB Mortgage Ireland 2023

If you want to see what you could save by calculating your repayments and see all mortgage provider rates you can click here.

If you want to know more about other mortgage providers you can click here.

If you want to know more about longer term fixed rates, you can check out our deep dive best fixed rate mortgage piece here or how fixed versus variable compares here.

If you want to get your savings started right now, set up a free no obligation video call with a mortgage sherpa here, covering not only the best rate, but also helping choose the lender most likely to approve you and helping take the pain out of the paperwork.

Check out our other popular guides below.

Daire McConnon - mortgage sherpa lead

Need help with your mortgage?

No hassle, in a 15 minute call our mortgage sherpa team will guide you on the journey. 

They will help you borrow, find you the best deal and make the paperwork painless.

Best of all, they are free as they are paid for by the lenders.

Why Us?

Save €25,000 On Average

Start Saving in 6 Weeks

100% Free

100% On Line

Check out our reviews

Suzanne Powell
Suzanne Powell
14/03/2023
Lovely to deal with. Sound, honest, unbiased advice with no pressure. They'll tell you what is genuinely best for you. Would highly recommend.
Lee Palmer
Lee Palmer
09/03/2023
Great service. Highly recommended. Couldn't speak more highly of Gavin and team for making the whole experience as seamless as possible. Thanks all who were involved.
Eve Quigley
Eve Quigley
26/02/2023
Cost of living challenges, seeing prices increase daily on everything from utilities, basic essentials and services made me re-evaluate my outgoings and where savings could be had. That included my mortgage, every article I read recommended reaching out to a mortgage expert. I have no regrets in contacting Moneysherpa, I contacted three experts and only they responded. Having delved into the world of mortgages, done my own research I knew my best option would be to stay with my present provider and fix my rate, they concurred and by doing so ultimately wouldn't have made a financial gain on my ask but were still willing to share their invaluable expertise with me and that counts for a lot. They were professional, knowledgeable and offered me sound advice. I have since recommended to family/friends. Thank you Nikki and your team, I appreciate your time and words of wisdom. Best wishes to you and your company.
David O'Shea
David O'Shea
17/02/2023
Daire and the team helped me with a recent mortgage switch. Fantastic service from my first call with Daire through to completion. If you are thinking about switching mortgage then the first thing you should do is contact these guys. I am so glad I did!!
Julie Gleeson
Julie Gleeson
03/02/2023
I was delighted with the service I received from the moneysherpa team. So efficient, friendly and on point with everything. Highly recommended them.
James Grace
James Grace
02/02/2023
I used Moneysherpa when switching my mortgage provider at the end of 2022. Petrina was very helpful when detailing the different options available and working through the process. The online platform for uploading all the various documentation is very user friendly and clearly lists out what is uploaded and still outstanding. Louise then took over for the drawdown stage and answered any questions we had. I would definitely recommend Petrina and the team to anyone planning on switching their mortgage.
Gary Meade
Gary Meade
25/01/2023
Great to see a “modern” mortgage service in Ireland. Everyone knows a mortgage application can be extremely time consuming and document heavy but with everything being “online” made such a difference. Highly recommend Petrina from discussing our options from the outset and any curve balls that came our way during the process. Damian (jacobs law) and Niki in Money Sherpa. Highly recommend. Thanks everyone
Dara Gannon
Dara Gannon
16/01/2023
Had a very informative consultation with Kinga who answered all our questions and gave us sound and impartial advice. Top class service. Thanks!
Brian Carpenter
Brian Carpenter
20/12/2022
Great service...a pleasure to deal with & very prompt with responses to any queries. Would recommend to anyone.
Edwin Nienhuis
Edwin Nienhuis
20/12/2022
Very good service by the MoneySherpa team in helping us switch our mortgage earlier in the year. First an introduction call, explaining the service and next steps in detail followed by the creation of a personalised portal where you can upload all your documents and track the mortgage application process.

Get your FREE mortgage switching guide

Save big with our 26 page downloadable switching guide & tips straight to your inbox

Book your free mortgage check

Hours
Minutes
Seconds

HURRY BEFORE THEY ARE GONE: Secure your FREE 15 min online video advice call NOW

Get Your Free
Mortgage Switching Guide!

Save big with our 26 page Ultimate Switching Guide and tips straight to your inbox